A reinvented childhood

Sometimes I wish I had grown up in a house of scholars, raised on diet of philosophers, mystics and historians. Given Latin, Hebrew, German, Spanish, Arabic and Mandarin to cut my teeth on so that my tongue would be at home anywhere in the world. That I had been bathed in the works of the greatest artists and composers throughout our short human experience. That Shakespeare, Homer and Voltaire were my bedtime stories and Einstein, Galileo & Kepler whispered to me in my slumber. But if I had grown up immersed in a classical education I would not have become who I am today. I was born with a craving beyond understanding of those who raised me. I was Isolated in poverty, violence, ignorance and my own strangeness yet I triumph in understanding and engaging with the rich beauty of this world.

 

 

One comment on “A reinvented childhood

  1. […] A reinvented childhood (errantsatiety.wordpress.com) […]

Share with me...

