Mariano ‘Chicho’ Frumboli y Juana Sepulveda

Mariano ‘Chicho’ Frumboli y Juana Sepulveda

Can you see his control over her, how he dances her? Mmmm gives me shivers every time.

I had the pleasure to witness this performance live, I was a few tables to the right of the camera. I would provide a translation of the poem but so much is lost in translation, I have not yet found the correct English colloquialisms for many of the core references. I was so incredibly moved by this experience, was in tears on the night and when watching my recording the following morning to ensure it was real was in tears again. I know (most of you) you are not tango dancers but I would be interested to hear what you see… These are two of the best improvised Nuevo (new) tango dancers in the world.

4 comments on “Mariano ‘Chicho’ Frumboli y Juana Sepulveda

  1. mrmodigliani says:

    There is something divine between the two of them. He may be leading, but the union between the two is almost spiritual, as though they were paired in heaven. This leaves me breathless

    • A lovely observation, you could feel their unity on the night. From the moment they stepped onto the floor we were captives to their beautiful connection. They radiated something like communion and everyone became still and walked away a little richer by what they had witnessed.

  2. dievca says:

    I am not well-versed in Tango, I am well-trained in dance. You would have to guide me for the nuances of Tango ~ Let me tell you what I see with the information you have given: You said that they are two of the two best improvised Nuevo Tango Dancers, I am assuming that means that the dance is not set and they are reading each other. They know each other VERY well,they have PRACTICE together for many hours, they TRUST each other, he is incredibly solid and sure on his feet, so she feels SAFE to maneuver around him. He drives where the dance goes.

    If I am correct — Tango does sound like D/s.

    • You are most definitely correct. Yes they practice together a lot. He drives where the dance goes and her response is exactly as he asks. They are beautiful. I worked recently with another world class couple and they commented that they often don’t practice together for long periods so that their improvisation stays real. Tango is a very rich medium.

Share with me...

