Some thoughts on Judgement

Warning, although this post does not contain sexually explicit material it does contain reference to BDSM terms that may offend some readers.

I caught up with a couple of friends last night. They were in town for a fetish social gathering. It was a lunch and drinks affair not a play session. I met them a few hours after their event. We caught up a little and then the conversation turned to kink. I wanted to know a little more about the group they meet with to see if perhaps this something I might like to get involved with. They clarified that they personally weren’t into D/s (that would be annoying she says) just BDSM kink. I had noticed that she was covered in a lot more scars than ever before. These were explained when she said that bondage with rope etc was too boring for them that they are into ‘cutting and fucking’. In my head I am thinking; ‘well they seem happy and apart from the scars which she is wearing with pride that seem to have healed cleanly, there is no visual cue for concern’. This is not something I am even vaguely interested in but they are so I listen without judgement. They talked a little about managing their scenes and told a couple of humorous stories. Then they notice the attention I am getting from men around us. Excitedly, she says ‘you could totally get picked up’ he agrees noting each of the men who have expressed interest. ‘Except I am happy with my man.’ I say and she rolls her eyes, he laughs derisively, ‘Really? Don’t you get bored? You deserve some fun’. Monogamy doesn’t suit these two I know they have an open relationship but I am surprised that they are encouraging me to cheat. They know my man and consider him family. They push this point rather too hard and clearly think I am a prude. They talk about other fet couples they know, in the local group, and their D/s relationships and I realise that they all seem to have a very different view to my own. They are talking about blame and how the submissive is always wrong even when they are not. I want to explore this statement, as it doesn’t sit right with me. I might be new to this and only entering D/s in a soft way but I still have some clear ideas about what D/s is to me. I brave the rough waters and state: ‘I think both submissive and Dominant need to know when they have done wrong, if my Dominant blamed me for everything it would compromise the trust between us. I see D/s as about being open and honest with each other including the Dominant owning his shit.’ (Like every relationship D/s or not.) They think about this for a while and come back with references that don’t really make sense in this context. I accept that we are on different planets and that a deep and meaningful discussion is obviously not going to happen at this point. We part with hugs and I walk away having learned something about them and myself. I felt really judged by them and their eye rolling attempts to push me in a direction I have no interest in. I am surprised that with their kink interests that they would judge me in this way. I had gone to meet them being more willing than in the past to engage in discussion about D/s, kink, & BDSM but have realised that my initial conclusion about them is true, for them kink & BDSM is an important pastime in theirs lives, they refer to this as ‘the lifestyle’ but it is their version, a lifestyle, it’s not mine and I would never push them into something else or judge them as being lesser for it. I hope they don’t really judge me for my lifestyle, but if they do, well that’s their shit.

Thinking about this situation and the feeling of being judged makes me think about whether or not I judge others and how I manage this. For me it is empathy that enables me to not judge, I can imagine their position, why they are the way they are and somehow come to a place of reconciliation and acceptance. I am not perfect and I am irritated by people’s behaviour at times but I choose not to judge them but rather seek to understand their behaviour (and vice versa if my behaviour irritates someone else then I ask why am I behaving this way with them?). It is hard sometimes to witness someone engaging in behaviour that you feel is unacceptable. Or to be on the receiving end of unacceptable behaviour and realise that the other person doesn’t see any harm (or carry any guilt) in what they are doing. Then I think it comes down to something else, not judgement, more about trust being lost. When someone treats you badly and expects nothing to have changed between you? That someone is no true friend or acquaintance and you have to be sure to protect yourself by withdrawing trust. If someone in your life makes some bad decisions that end up with someone or multiple someone’s feeling betrayed? That again is about trust. Choosing whether or not to support their bad decisions is about making a judgement call that may lead to withdrawing trust. They are no longer who you thought they were and although the relationship may yet be saved you know them differently and may be wary for some time. You can still support them, if you feel so inclined, but I think you have to be clear about your moral or personal standpoint, not judging them (or perhaps there is a little judgement involved) but being clear and sharing where the line is for you. It is up to them whether they wish to discuss their point of view and if they wish to change their personal ‘line’. I don’t like feeling as though someone sees my choices as ‘wrong’ and attempts to push their view onto me. I think that is just rude. I would hope that I don’t do this to anyone else and after last night will be working to ensure that I never do. Sharing points of view and agreeing to agree or disagree is what I would rather experience, not feeling as though I am being judged and that my point of view is ‘pathetic’. One thing is for sure; I do not feel the slightest inclination to join the local group. Although I will reserve final judgement on that until I have met more representatives of the group first hand.

3 comments on “Some thoughts on Judgement

  1. dievca says:

    I thought the statement, “Your kink may not be my kink, but that is o.k.” was the mantra for BDSM. Do what works for you. I have a post coming up that is about something I desire – it is a silly and simple desire, but it is my kink and it leads me feeling more submissive. I am guessing that you are the bigger person and will accept my kink and poor writing, so I don’t mind the effort of opening myself up. People who pretend to be open minded and really aren’t, should not garner our worry.

    • Yes I think that mantra slipped my friends minds. I have measured how much I can and want to share with them from that experience and let it go. Thank you for your kind hearted words and your willingness to share, much appreciated makes me smile and feel glad once again for this platform of sharing. I look forward to your desire post and your lovely way with words!

      • dievca says:

        This is still making me think….it’s not a competition. This is not “you are not competing at the level we are competing at”….sorry, I thought of this last night. D/s is our own personal journey and should be developed with honesty and without judgement. Fini~

Share with me...

