Turn your face to the sun

sunrise

“Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope or confidence. No pessimist ever discovered the secret of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new doorway for the human spirit.

The best and the most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart.

Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadow. Everything has its wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I may be in, there in to be content… I seldom think of my limitations and they never make me sad. Perhaps there is just a touch of yearning at times; but it is vague, like a breeze among flowers.

To keep our faces to toward change, and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.”

Helen Keller.

If Helen Keller could express this way, without sight, without hearing, who had to learn to communicate … who are we that have the blessings of all of these things, or even partial blessing of these senses, taken as given by so many, to doubt ourselves? Challenge for the week for me to truly behave like a free spirit.

Image from here

4 comments on “Turn your face to the sun

  1. mel says:

    Such an amazing quote, and woman. It does make you appreciate all that we take for granted! Thank you for sharing this.

    • As one who has worn thick glasses since 6 and cannot hear in one ear I learned to feel. I am still deaf but I can see now without assistance. Strange to be a dancer with poor hearing but it has heightened my other senses xx

  2. l1brarygrl says:

    Lovely. Puts things in perspective…again.

Share with me...

