Luminous

dance_in_the_shutter_IX_by_mehmeturgut

It doesn’t always feel harmonious within me. I gnash my teeth in frustration. Tears form relentlessly at times. Pain sears my soul. Yet always I seek, I reach for the beloved. The real. The truth. That it would be nurtured deep within, through and through all my fibers. That the fruit taste sweet and juicy. That passion would touch my lips and suck my tongue. That my mind would grasp the wispy tendrils of knowing and whisper them through my all. That the notes of my laughter awaken. That the radiance in my eyes speak. That the essence of my dance sing.

When I danced tonight I soared with connection. My skin felt incandescent and sparks flew from my edges. These moments soothe the longing. The longing that grows with every moment that I allow my heart to open, to feel, I sense the loss the separation, the ‘catch 22’, the reality of polarization, of humanity. Love fills the rift, first love of the self then the love of others. Purpose provides comfort even if the truth is not yet fully seen. And when it is revealed, even in the briefest of moments or encounters my smile, my heart, my whole is luminous.

Surrender to life.

Words by errant satiety images from deviantArt

dance_in_the_shutter_XII_by_mehmeturgut

‘Love after Love’

The time will come

When, with elation,

you will greet yourself arriving

at your own door, in your own mirror,

and each will smile at the other’s welcome,

and say, sit here. Eat.

You will love again the stranger who was your self.

Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart

to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored

for another, who knows you by heart.

take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

 

the photographs, the desperate notes,

peel your own image from the mirror.

Sit, Feast on your life.

– Derek Walcott

19 comments on “Luminous

  1. dievca says:

    Ever the practical dievca — you have to go through the gnashing of the teeth to get to the incandescent moments. That’s called training. God, beautiful words and my mind goes immediately to happened before to “set the stage” – strange human, I am. XO

  2. jayne says:

    Your words make me wish I knew how to dance.

Share with me...

