Visitor

I woke with the strangest feeling that there was someone at the door, a visitor of some kind. Light had not yet come to the windows; the cat was curled peacefully next to me. Rubbing my eyes I checked the time, 3am. Rising I wrapped my black silk nightgown over my matching nightdress. My warm bare feet touched the cool wooden floorboards and I padded softly out of my bedroom and down the hallway. A flickering glow registered in my vision it was emanating from the front room, I wondered briefly if the television was left on. As I get closer though I see that there is a human shaped glow, flickering as a candle in the breeze, just inside the front doorway. I stopped short, I must be dreaming. Transfixed I stand only a few feet away observing.

It is a man. His face comes into focus then fades to white noise. Strangely, I am not afraid only curious. I step closer. As I reach with trembling fingers to touch the apparition forming before me I shiver, such a handsome face, did I know him from somewhere? His form becomes more substantial as I reach for it. As my fingertips make contact I gasp he is warm, alive, and real. Fear grips me as my rational mind decides this is not a dream. I cannot retrieve my hand I find I do not want to and his eyes made of light and shadow are pleading with me. His mouth forms words that I cannot hear.

My heart wrenches in my chest, I can see you, touch you why can I not hear your words? “Why have you come here?” His eyes so sad but filled with love reach deeply into me. Then the heat in my hand is gone as his light flickers and snuffs out leaving only shadow. My heart beat thunderously in my chest. I want to throw open the door and chase him but I know he is not there. I know that he has gone from this world. Slowly I drop my arm closing my eyes to sear the memory of his face in my mind. The cat is suddenly at my feet mewling quietly, I drop to pat her and allow her to lead me back to bed.

Groggily I drag myself through my work day. Running late for most of it I dive into a salad bar I have never been to find something nutritious for lunch. There are few tables and only one seat left at a table for two. I make my way over, preparing to ask if the seat is free. As I get closer the man looks up at me I freeze, the same man, my apparition in full colour his bright blue eyes beam at me his friendly smile open and inviting. “This seat is free if you like?” I sit knowing that last night you had come to warn me or bid me farewell and now here you were arriving in my life. I could chose to walk away, instead I meet your handsome glowing eyes and return your smile knowing already that my cat is going to like you.

Words by errant satiety

 

8 comments on “Visitor

  1. dievca says:

    Oh, what fun! and the dance has begun. XO

  2. eriklehman says:

    Oh, I love it. And the ending line is absolutely perfect.

  3. Michael says:

    What a great story! I had chills initially and then my eyes watered as described seeing him during the night…glad your kitty was so responsive as well 😉

    • This was lovely to write. I had an image come to mind of reaching to touch an apparition and it wrote itself from that. I’m a cat lover, if my girl doesn’t like someone it always gives me pause for thought, she is a great judge of character!

Share with me...

