Honey raptor

Tui

The forest calls to me. The eerie birdsong of this place lures me in. Voices proudly singing their ancient land tales, all that they know from their place in the sky. I find myself weaving through honeysuckle scented black trunked trees, lush mossy goodness fills my lungs, and dappled sunlight through the canopy illuminates Tui’s black organic wings. They fly like fighter jets with wise eyes and sharp talon, rainbow sheen only appearing when close. Ancient nectar-eater, mesmerising in flight, unbelievable voice that echoes across vast distances entrancing human ears. Eye to eye bird and human fall silent sharing a communion beyond description, finally satisfied he bursts into flight and his parting call sends me home.

Tui song 1

Tui song 2

Image by Craig McKenzie

2 comments on “Honey raptor

  1. hemmingplay says:

    Very nice description. I Like. 🙂

Share with me...

