A storm and a change of scene

Yesterday my son and I swapped his bedroom space and my home office space. There was a huge storm raging outside as we moved furniture and spring cleaned in the wrong season. With everything carefully placed, the cobwebs dusted and a change of art works on our walls; both of us found we were far more productive last night in our evening’s creative pursuits. He was building the architecture of an online world and I building the architecture of my current fantasy world. My flow was effortless and satisfying. With full time work, my son and my tango passion I find I have to be disciplined with my writing to keep my inspiration encouraged and vital. I hadn’t realised that my office, which doubles as an occasional spare room, had become ‘cluttered’ and this was affecting my writing flow. Everyday my minimum expectation is 500 words toward my novel (more is great but I am content if I achieve 500 a day). Last night I put in an easy 2000 plus played about with a few other random bits and pieces that will end up posted here.

Today everyone seems to be a state of post storm bliss… all that gale force wind and heavy driving rain has left the world sparkling and refreshed, the sun is out and everyone is smiling. At lunch time I walked through my favourite park to, literally, smell the roses in bloom. This is a park I remember visiting with my mother when I would have been just two years old. The young ones were drawn to me today, I met several, one after another, who all caught my eyes searching them deeply, for a moment it seemed our souls touched then they beamed at me and greeted me jubilantly with their happy little voices. Ah, what a wonderful day with magic heavy in the air. My heart is very content.

2 comments on “A storm and a change of scene

  1. Michael says:

    A very lifting post, Errant! 🙂 I enjoyed the light-hearted flow of this writing which perfectly matched the mood that inspired it. A beautiful day indeed!

    • It was! I am pleased that the tone carried through. I am so happy in my new writing nest 🙂 and all those smiles in the world, they just make you feel so very good.

Share with me...

