Siblings

Today was one of thoughtful reminiscing, thinking of my brother and his daughter who has been and still is in such a dark place. I sat at lunchtime in the calm of a local park, alone with my thoughts firmly set on my brother when these two little siblings appeared…

Ducklings

In the wrong season (autumn descends upon us here in the Southern hemisphere) they cling to and care for one another. I wish I had recorded the audio of their language, peeping consistently to one another in the most captivating way.

I embraced my brother tonight speaking more honestly than I have in a long time. It did us both good. We grew up within the same dysfunctional environment which has affected us both in different yet similar ways. It feels good to be able to offer him what humble words of recollection and wisdom I have, and I know that for the first time he is hearing them.

26 comments on “Siblings

  1. Sofia says:

    Bellisima,
    Beautiful picture and I am glad that it inspired you to talk to your brother.
    Abrazos

  2. hispetitelle says:

    That was so poignant. How beautiful they appreared when they did and that you could share your heart.

  3. Jayne says:

    Siblings are such a sweet source of something deep and true when things go right. It’s nice to read and your warm comes through. I bet he felt it too. xo, J

  4. lora4260 says:

    When we ask for help…the answers are right in front of our eyes. I wish nothing but the best outcome from this heart-to-heart conversation. I also know what it is like to grow up in a dysfunctional environment. 🙂 Love ❤

    • Yes, I love the way those answers pop up, that moment of recognition when it all clicks into place in your mind. Just lovely. Sorry to hear that you can relate to the dysfunctional although it is what it was and makes us who we are xo

  5. 'Tis says:

    Truly amazing the ways we can be guided or inspired in life if we just open ourselves up to receiving the message. Glad you were able to see them. 🙂

    xo

  6. […] mind to mind, heart to heart, soul to soul conversation with my brother last night brought my firm beliefs about childhood experiences and the past into clear focus. A good friend of […]

Share with me...

