Articulacy of Fingers

adam_eva_by_trung_tiger-d4kxkak

Articulacy of fingers the language of the deaf and dumb, signing of the body. Body longing. Written on the body is a secret code only visible in certain lights; the accumulations of a lifetime gather there. In places the palimpsest is so heavily worked that the letters feel like braille. I like to keep my body rolled up away from prying eyes. Never unfold too much, tell the whole story. I fear meeting someone with reading hands, in case they translate me into their own book.

In silence and in darkness we loved each other and as I traced his bones with my palm I wondered what time would do to skin that was so new to me. Could I ever feel less for this body? Why does ardour pass? Time that withers you will wither me. Will we fall like ripe fruit and roll down the grass together? Dear friend, let me lie beside you watching the clouds until the earth covers us and we are gone.

 

‘Written on the Body’ Jeanette Winterson – page 89-90

Image courtesy of Trung-Tiger on deviantART

8 comments on “Articulacy of Fingers

  1. Himani B says:

    I have always been fascinated with hands and all that a simple gesture and touch can convey. Your post was a pure delight to read this evening, Thank you for sharing the beautiful story conveyed in those words ❤

    • I too find hands fascinating. I was looking through an old notebook and found this snippet. I enjoyed re-reading it so much I was inspired to share. So happy that you enjoyed it ❤

  2. Dear E,
    I was so excited to present the award to you, I did not have an opportunity to comment on this Beautiful piece. I love doing palmistry. I’m fascinated by what our fingers, palms, and many other facets of our hand reveal about us.
    Love,
    Anastasia 😊

    • Hmmm palmistry would be fascinating! I just adore hands.

      • Dear E,
        I Understand your fascination. I find myself looking at the length, and shape of fingers. With anyone I come into contact with. You-Tube has great video’s on palmistry. Some are broken down into reading different parts of the hand.
        ~A 😊

Share with me...

