Kisses in the Train – D H Lawrence

I saw the midlands
Revolve through her hair;
The fields of autumn
Stretching bare,
And sheep on the pasture
Tossed back in a scare.

And still as ever
The world went round,
My mouth on her pulsing
Neck was found,
And my breast to her beating
Breast was bound.

But my heart at the centre
Of all, in a swound
Was still as a pivot,
As all the ground
On its prowling orbit
Shifted round.

And still in my nostrils
The scent of her flesh,
And still my wet mouth
Sought her afresh;
And still one pulse
Through the world did thresh.

And the world all whirling
Around in joy
Like the dance of a dervish
Did destroy
My sense–and my reason
Spun like a toy.

But firm at the centre
My heart was found;
Her own to my perfect
Heart-beat bound,
Like a magnet’s keeper
Closing the round.

Kisses on the Train – D H Lawrence 1911
(1885-1930)

4 comments on “Kisses in the Train – D H Lawrence

  1. dievca says:

    My first kiss was on a train. I remember being amazed by the musky smell of a boy. D H Lawrence is so much more elegant in His memories than I~ or the scent of her flesh was much more enticing than mine! XO

    • This piece reminds me of the overwhelming sensation of encountering someone whom you are inexplicably drawn to, magnetized to… Such a wild and unsettling feeling. Hard to decide if it is fate telling you that their combination of particles relates to and compliments your own or simple instinctual desire. I love that your first kiss was in a train. Mine was beneath the shrubbery outside my house. I was four (as was he) does that count?

      • dievca says:

        Uhh — I was referring to the more involved kiss. The first peck was on the way home from Kindergarten. I was teased for years….jealous girls! 😉

      • Yes I thought you meant that kind of first kiss, mine was in the rain at night in a city that never sleeps. The lines from Bjork’s ‘Possibly Maybe’ come to mind… ‘I suck my tongue in remembrance of you.’

Share with me...

